Forgot Password? Not a member? Register
Close Panel
Close Panel
You are here: Home >>  Knowledge Base >>  Regional Transport Partnerships

Regional Transport Partnerships

Under the Transport (Scotland) Act of 2005, seven statutory Regional Transport Partnerships covering the whole of Scotland were created. 

The role of the Regional Transport Partnerships (RTPs) is to strengthen the planning and delivery of regional transport so that it better serves the needs of people and businesses across the various regions of Scotland. 

Each RTP has a regional transport strategy which is supported by a delivery plan where the RTPs set out when and how projects and proposals will be delivered. 

Each RTP is a statutory body responsible for bringing together local authorities and other key stakeholders to take a strategic approach to transport in each region of Scotland. 

Listed below are the various regions and the relevant RTP.  Click on the links to find out more about each RTP and they services that they can provide to businesses in their region. 





Shetland - ZetTrans



Highland and Islands - HITRANS





North East of Scotland ( Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire) - NESTRANS





Tayside and Central Scotland ( Angus, Dundee, Perth and Kinross and Stirling) - Tactran 



South East Scotland (Borders, Lothians, Edinburgh,Fife, Falkirk and Clackmannanshire) - SESTRAN






Glasgow and surrounding areas   - SPT  (Strathclyde Partnership for Transport) 




South West of Scotland (Dumfries and Galloway) - SWESTRANS 

Need Help? Click here.